2014-2015 Scholarship Recipients Announced

By Barb Lang

Scholarship recipients for the upcoming 2014-2015 academic year have been announced by the University of Wisconsin-Barron County Foundation, Inc.

Scholarships for incoming, continuing, and transferring students are funded through donations to the Foundation by area businesses, individuals, civic organizations, and the UW-BC faculty and staff.

“Scholarship donors make dreams become realities.  For some students, receiving a scholarship can make the difference between full-time and part-time attendance which impacts the length of time for degree completion.  And while the financial assistance is significant, for some students, the vote of confidence they receive along with their scholarship is immeasurable,” said UW-BC Foundation Executive Director Barb Ritzinger.  “On behalf of the students who benefit, the Foundation appreciates donor support of excellence and opportunity at UW-Barron County.  These scholarships are an investment that will have positive impact for many years and generations to come.”

Scholarships were presented to area graduating high school seniors who will attend UW-BC as freshmen this fall.  These scholarship recipients are:

Veronica Roraff of Camp Douglas, $500 Ag Risk Managers Scholarship;

Michelle Ebler of Chetek, $250 Central Bank Scholarship;

Rebekah Storm of Amery, $500 Community Partnership-Chronotype Publishing Scholarship;

Marissa Scharf of Chetek, $500 Dairy State Bank Scholarship;

Hannah Voight of Barron, $1,000 Frank McGinnis Scholarship;

Chad Sheehan of Chetek, $1,000 Gladys Miller Scholarship;

Alexandra Green of Rice Lake, $500 Jan Stoll Memorial Scholarship;

Delaney Marcon of Haugen, $250 JCI Rice Lake Scholarship;

Thomas Sand of Prairie Farm, $500 Johnson Bank Scholarship;

Rien Groskopf of Turtle Lake, $1,000 Katherine ‘Chick’ Stauffer Memorial Scholarship;

Amber Kraft of Rice Lake, $1,000 Rice Lake Rotary Scholarship;

Kelsey Podgornik of Bruce, $250 Skip Widdes Scholarship;

Kyle Podgornik of Bruce, $500 Superior Silica Sands Scholarship; and

Sarah Thielke of Webster, $500 Superior Silica Sands Scholarship;

Scholarships for students continuing their education at UW-BC were announced at the UW-BC Commencement Ceremony.  Recipients of these scholarships are:

Gabriella Ashlin of Rice Lake, $500 ArtScape on Main/Rice Lake Main Street Association Scholarship;

Chelsea Kilmer of Springbrook, $500 Barron County Sunrise Rotary Scholarship;

Jennifer Stauner of Hawkins, $250 Carol Mae Widdes Scholarship;

Stacey Taylor of Rice Lake, $700 Community Health Clinic Scholarship;

Megan Tainter of Chetek, $500 Community Partnership-Vonesek & Schieffer Scholarship;

Sharai Hefty of Rice Lake, $250 Cumberland Federal Bank Scholarship;

Brandon McKenzie of Milltown, $500 Dean’s List Music Scholarship;

Fadumo Kahiye of Barron, $350 Diversity Scholarship;

Rhoda Knight of Stone Lake, $500 Donald and JoAnn Clemens Scholarship;

Katherine Zbleski of Comstock, $1,000 Fortnightly Club of Rice Lake Scholarship;

Emmalyn Anderson of Cameron, $1,000 Francis and Barbara Stauner Scholarship;

Esau Casetta of Eau Claire, $350 Humanities & Social Science UW-BC Faculty Scholarship;

Bridgette Strand of Birchwood, $350 Humanities & Social Science UW-BC Faculty Scholarship;

Shawn Blum of Rice Lake, $500 James Ellison Memorial Scholarship;

Christian Hansen of New Auburn, $800 Karl & Judith Schmid Scholarship;

Kelsey Anderson of Rice Lake, $500 Lakeview Medical Center Scholarship;

Levi Marquardt of Chetek, $350 Lou Einum Memorial Scholarship;

James Stewart, Jr. of Rice Lake, $600 Marsh Insurance Services Scholarship;

Jenessa Cabak of Rice Lake, $500 Marshfield Clinic Scholarship;

Shawn Blum of Rice Lake, $500 Oasis 2000 Scholarship;

Johnathan Larsen of Centuria, $400 Paul F. Durand Scholarship;

Ethan Severson of Clayton, $500 Peter Muschinske Distinguished Alumni Scholarship;

Jeannine Zook of Rice Lake, $500 Rice Lake Area Men’s Club Scholarship;

Anthony Schultz of Frederic, $500 Rice Lake Golden K Kiwanis Scholarship;

Rosanna Rucinski of Rice Lake, $500 Rice Lake Kiwanis Club/James Stauffer Memorial Scholarship;

Kelsey Maki of Rice Lake, $500 Rice Lake Lions Scholarship;

Megan Popple of Chippewa Falls, $500 Ronald Novotny Memorial Scholarship;

Chelsea Kilmer of Springbrook, $1,000 Sam and Rose Parker Scholarship;

Robert Pittman of Cameron, $1,000 Sam and Rose Parker Scholarship;

Jennifer Stauner of Hawkins, $500 Ed and Marla Thompson Music Scholarship;

Sharai Hefty of Rice Lake, $500 UW-BC Foundation Board Scholarship;

Jeannine Zook of Rice Lake, $500 UW-BC Foundation Board Scholarship;

Levi Marquardt of Chetek, $500 UW-BC Foundation Emeritus Board Scholarship;

Victoria Librande of Chetek, $500 UW-BC Foundation Founders Scholarship; and

Alyssia Kangas of Tripoli, $350 “We 3” Trio Music Scholarship;

The scholarship recipient who has finished their course work at UW-BC and is transferring to a four-year campus is:

Felicia Schuman of Cameron, $1,500 Barron County Retired Educators Scholarship.

Also, two adult students who are returning to the university to continue their studies and are recipients of a Return-to-Learn Scholarship are:

Rochelle DeMay of Hawkins, $500 Community Bank of Northern Wisconsin; and

Andrew Schwenzig of Rice Lake, $500 Community Bank of Northern Wisconsin.

The UW-Barron County Foundation and its volunteer board are organized to support and enhance educational opportunities at UW-Barron County.  For further information, or to find out how to become a scholarship donor, contact the Foundation office at 234-8176 ext. 5503, or email barbara.ritzinger@uwc.edu



Barb Ritzinger