Commencement Slated for May 21

By Barb Lang

Board of Regents President Michael J. Falbo will be the keynote speaker at the University of Wisconsin-Barron County Commencement ceremony on Wednesday, May 21 at 6:30 p.m. in the Fine Arts Theatre.

At Commencement, Associate of Arts & Science degree candidates will be honored and special recognition will be given to students who have successfully completed 60 credits with a GPA of 2.0 or higher and will be eligible to transfer.

Michael J. Falbo, of Hartland, was the former chairman and chief executive officer of State Financial Services Corporation. The company was the fifth-largest bank holding company in Wisconsin and was acquired in 2005 by Associated Banc-Corp of Green Bay where Falbo took on the role of chairman of Associated Community Development, LLC. Falbo earned his bachelor's of science degree from UW-Parkside. He is also an alumnus of the Graduate School of Banking at UW-Madison. Falbo is on the advisory board for Alverno College School of Business. He is a veteran of the United States Army, Vietnam Medic Corps

The host for the ceremony is Jeannine Zook of Rice Lake, UW-BC Student Government Association Sophomore Senator. The program will open with the singing of the National Anthem by UW-BC student Jennifer Stauner of Hawkins.  The students will then hear remarks from Campus Dean Dr. Dean Yohnk and greetings from the University of Wisconsin-Barron County Foundation new Executive Director Barb Ritzinger of Rice Lake.

Dr. Jayant Anand, Assistant Professor of Anthropology/Sociology, was invited by the Student Government Association to give the faculty address.  Michael Falbo will then give his keynote address after which the students will receive their degrees.

During the ceremony educational scholarship recipients, outstanding service award recipients, the 2014 UW-BC Foundation Distinguished Alumni, and Suma Cum Laude, Magna Cum Laude, and Cum Laude graduates will be announced.

Associate of Arts & Science degree candidates to be honored at the ceremony are:

William Edward Dietrich and Kaitlin Rae Lutsey of Amery; Bryana J. Petersin of Balsam Lake; Jessica Jean Coleman, Luke LaLiberty, Kiersten Ruth Severude, Helen Goosby, Fathi Kofiro, Moriah Dee Mizer, Shelby Rose Muench, Abdullahi Yussuf and Muhubo H. Yussuf of Barron; Kimberly Ann Leonard of Bloomer; Mihael J. Pietrzak of Brule; Nicole E. Beckman, Jenna Marie Loew, Christopher G. Messelt, Felicia Marie Schuman, and Heather L. Wood of Cameron; Holly Kathryn Hargis, Rachael Sheehan, Richard J. Smilowski, and Kendra L. Stoyke of Chetek; Luke C. Semingson of Chippewa Falls; Evette S. Parenteau of Clear Lake; Ashley S.E. Bearhart, Austin D. Hartman, Rebecca Heinecke, Kristy Norman, Vanessa Jane Weaver, Kimberly Gotch, and Travis Nyhus of Cumberland; Benjamin William Zabel of Elk Mound; Nathan Rolli of Farmington, MN; Alexander Kristopher Miller of Frederic; Megan Elizabeth Scepurek of Glenwwood City; Christopher Noyce of Hayward; Adam DeWayne Jacobsen of Hillsdale; Aleah Elizabeth Lemieux, Alecia K. Ouellette, and Kasey J. Ouellette of Luck; Joshua Paul Leavens of New Richmond; Celena Rose Fehlen of Osceola; Nicole Kallenbach Auchampach of Prairie Farm; Seth William Abrahamson, Dustin Smith, Alexandra Rose Turgeson, Jennifer L. Brye, Adam David Drost, Elizabeth F. Frolik, Aerial Brie Glessing, Kelsey Jo Maki, Hanna Marie-Strafuss Snyder, Nathaniel P. Walsh, and Jeannine M. Zook of Rice Lake; Laura Ashley Dickson of Shakopee, MN; Rebecca Jean Cain, Patricia A. Feeney, Maronda Klassa, Kourtney Lynn Klassa, Paige Klassa, and Gabriel Lagarde of Shell Lake; Amber Miller, Kortney Strunk, and Jessie Wells of Spooner; Keri Kay Nelson of St. Croix Falls; Ciara Ann Lazar of Tony; Dawn M. Bruder and Jennifer Raddatz of Turtle Lake; James Scott Erickson of Webster; Keagan Ross Burdorf of Weyerhaeuser; and Amber Rose Petri of Whitelaw.

Those to be honored for having successfully completed 60 credits with a grade point average of 2.0 or better are:
Ericha Raffesberger of Almena; Adam Johnson of Amery; Brett Mueller, Shama Yussuf and Steven Talbert of Barron; Veronica Jenneman of Bloomer; Devan Lihrman of Bruce; Anna Borstad and Garrett Verdegan of Cameron; Samuel Foight of Centuria; Eric Taft of Chetek; Brendan Hall of Chippewa Falls; Matthew Gretzlock of Clayton; Charmain Wiggers of Comstock; Joseph Brown of Cumberland; Rhoda Knight of Hayward; Cory Hayden of Park Falls; Bambi Forcey and Joshua Saunders of Rice Lake; Dillon Hopke and John Lloyd of Shell Lake; Shawn Blum of Siren; and Anthony Long of Turtle Lake.


Barb Lang