Congratulations to LIPPIE Award Winners

By Barb Lang

Learning Innovation Prizes (LIPPIES) were recently awarded to UW-Barron County students who initiated highly engaging projects that went beyond typical classroom assignments.

Student projects nominated for the award included special collaborations between students and faculty, group project, independent research projects, service-learning or civic engagement projects, and inter-disciplinary projects.  LIPPIE winners were announced at the final Thursdays @ at the U event on May 8 and each of the winners gave a 5 – 7 minute synopsis of their project to the audience.  All LIPPIE winners received a monetary stipend for their efforts.

LIPPIE winners are:

Tyler Harrel of Shell Lake for his work in ENG 205 & 281, Literary Magazines and The Literature of Disaster in Japan, for his poetry writing at Cameron High School;

Kodi Drinken of St. Croix Falls for her work in BIO 299, Reading and Research in Biology, for her work “Common Mussels of the Red Cedar River;”

Jodi Kiffmeyer of Rice Lake for her work in ENG 381, Literature of Disaster in Japan, for fundraising for Tsunami Relief;

Gabriella Ashlin of Rice Lake, Mckenzy Suhr of Rice Lake, Dean Schneider of Rice Lake, Sheila Keesen of Rice Lake, Emma Lee Raspotnik of Ashland, Josh Newman of Osceola, Laura Bonnstetter of Woodville, Ryan Schoenborn of Osceola, and Jessica Golz of Centuria for their work in ART 121/125, Oil Painting, for their project “Painted Past;”

Courtney DeLasky of Rice Lake, Taylor Fankhauser of Rice Lake, Brandon Kositzka of Chetek, Levi Marquardt of Chetek; Amanda Nelson of Rice Lake, Josh Newman of Osceola, Evette Parenteau of Clayton, Ryan Schoenborn of Osceola, and Anneliese Vaini of Chetek for their work in ART 112, Three Dimensional Design, for their project “Toadally Trashy;”

Alex Doe of Eau Claire, Bill Muench of Turtle Lake, Stacey Taylor of Rice Lake, Liz Lee of Rice Lake, Jess Stensvold of Stone Lake, and Nikki King of Chetek for their work in ENG 305, Literature in Communities, for organizing the Northwest Wisconsin Writers’ Festival; and

the Future Engineers of UW-Barron County members Ben Zabel of Rice Lake, Jacob Wald of Grantsburg, Duane Wahlstrom of Chetek, Abram Linton of Chetek, Rosie Rucinski of Rice Lake, Lucas Dahl of Rice Lake, Joe Brown of Rice Lake, and Devan Lihrman of Bruce for their outreach to members of the Barron County Boys’ and Girls’ Club.


Joel Friederich