New PTK Members Inducted

By Barb Lang

The Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society of the University of Wisconsin-Barron County conducted its 50th induction ceremony on Tuesday, April 22, at Lehman’s Supper Club.               

Students who accepted the university’s invitation to join PTK include Joseph Brown of Rice Lake, Jennifer Brye of Rice Lake, StNew PTK Inducteesephanie Byrnes-Hampton of Cameron, Adam Drost of Rice Lake, Allysa Jeska of Amery, Chelsea Kilmer of Springbrook, Robert Pittman of Cameron, Rosanna Rucinski of Rice Lake, Ethan Severson of Clayton, Steven Woods of Ladysmith, and Katherine Zbleski of Comstock.               

Speakers at the induction ceremony were UW-Barron County Professor of Engineering Christa James-Byrnes, Assistant Professor of Communication and Theatre Arts Nichole Kathol, Associate Professor of Political Science Eric T. Kasper, and Campus Dean/CEO Dean Yohnk.  PTK President Jennifer Smith of Rice Lake conducted the induction ceremony.  Each inductee was presented with a certificate and a white rose, symbolic of the intellectual friendship that is formed in Phi Theta Kappa.             

During the last year, Phi Theta Kappa raised money to sponsor a child in Nepal.  Students in the group also volunteered their time to help with the campus EATS fundraiser, and they organized an educational field trip to Minneapolis-St. Paul.  In addition, PTK members plan, and help tutor at, the student study day at the end of each semester at UW-Barron County               

Advisors to PTK include Professors Christa James-Byrnes, Kathol, and Kasper.  Kathol and Kasper recently completed their service as advisors, and newly inducted advisors include Dean Yohnk and Assistant Professor of English Quentin Vieregge.  In addition to President Jennifer Smith, other officers of the organization include Secretary Cory Hayden of Rice Lake and the aforementioned Adam Drost, who serves as Treasurer.           

All UW-Barron County students earning 12 credits and a minimum grade point average of 3.25 are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa.  The organization’s mission is two-fold: (1) to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students, and (2) to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming.

Pictured in the induction photo from left to right are:

Christa James-Byrnes (advisor), Robert Pittman, Rosanna Rucinski, Ethan Severson, Chelsea Kilmer, Adam Drost (treasurer), Jennifer Smith (president), Dean Yohnk (incoming advisor), Nichole Kathol (outgoing advisor), Quentin Vieregge (incoming advisor), and Eric T. Kasper (outgoing advisor).


Eric Kasper