Student Government

UW-Barron County has a student government and a collegium comprised of faculty, staff and students.

Each UW-BC student is a member of SGA, the official organized voice of the student population. All officers and senators are students who are elected by the UW-BC student body. SGA actively promotes students’ interests, organizes student activities and manages student funds. Members of the SGA and other students also act as student representatives on the following campus committees: Steering Committee, Search/Appointments, Curriculum, Academic Actions, Collegium, Technology, Day Care and SLIC (Student Life and Interest Committee).

SGA is a member of the Student Governance Council (SGC) which is the voice of the students of all 13 UW Colleges campuses. SGC conducts meetings and leadership workshops throughout the year. Each campus is allowed to send representatives to these meetings to vote on a variety of issues. Sonya Murrey (Student Services) is the SGA advisor.

The SGA is also a member of the United Council (UC) which is the voice for all the students of member UW campuses in the state. UC also conducts meetings and workshops throughout the year that are open to students.

Contact the Student Government Association if you would like to get a new campus group officially recognized. You can do this by talking to a SGA representative, visiting their office in Room 150 Meggers Hall, by contacting them at 234-8176 ext-5446, or by email at

Spring 2015 Officers & Senators


  • President, Ethan Severson
  • Vice-President, James Stewart
  • Treasurer, Patrick Harris
  • Secretary, Jessica Stensvold

Sophomore Senators

  • Megan Popple
  • Esau Casetta
  • Andrew Schwenzig
  • Derek Robarge

Freshman Senators

  • Alex Fraatz
  • Andrea (Drea) Lamphere
  • Sarah Thielke
  • Aisha Fultz

SGA Advisor: Christopher Wylie, Student Affairs

The 2014-2015 UW Colleges Student Governance Council officers are:

President: Graham Pierce / UW-Marshfield/Wood County
Vice President:  Wayne Mortenson / UW-Barron County
Financial Director: Christiana Kmecheck / UW-Marinette
Executive Director: Marly Harmeling / UW-Sheboygan
Advisor: Jonathan Watson / UW-Sheboygan

Find more information about SGC here.